Hello Fresh

One of the biggest problems people face when dieting or changing their lifestyle is sticking to it. Too often, we pick out a diet that forces us to eliminate a lot of the things we love. When we have to give up what we love, it doesn’t last too long. Other than being on a vegetarian diet for 3.5 years, Hello Fresh has been the longest “Lifestyle Diet” that I’ve ever stuck to.

One of the many joys in life is good food. I’ve always loved cooking but it can be hard to be motivated after coming home from work, having to look for a recipe, and then go out and buy the ingredients. Not only that, but it can be expensive. I feel like every time I make something out of a recipe I spend $50-100! I also feel like when I go to the grocery store to buy ingredients, I can’t find one of the ingredients!

I’ve debated on trying a meal delivery program for a while. My mom did Blue Apron, but complained that it was a lot of work. I did some research and discovered Hello Fresh.

What is Hello Fresh? Hello Fresh is a meal delivery program with multiple options. I currently do the Classic Box with a “Fit Preference” which sends me meals under 650 calories. I typically get two meals with meat and one vegetarian meal (Meatless Mondays!).  I pay $69 a week which breaks down to about $11.50 per meal. That’s close to the price of getting take out from Chipotle. It seems like a lot but I if I were to go out and buy all these ingredients it would cost me significantly more. Why hassle the hunt at the grocery store after a long day of work? Every Wednesday (you can customize the date), I receive my meals on my door step and my ingredients manage to stay cold in the Arizona heat. When my parents are in town, we upgrade to the Family Box and we receive 3 meals but for 4 people. My dad is also picky about fish, so we selected the “No Seafood” preference.

What I really love about Hello Fresh is how simple the recipes are. They do take about 30 minutes to make, but they are fairly easy for a millenial to do. My confidence in cooking has really spiked. Because the meals are so simple, it makes things easy for me to remember them on the whim. I can recall how to season many meats, make my own salad dressings, and how long to cook things for without looking up. At my ride in Utah it got too dark for me to grill some pork, so I had some confidence in being able to cook pork and vegetables on the grill inside my camper. It also doesn’t require too many pots, pans, and cooking tools. After I make a meal, I just rinse all my cookware and put it in the dishwasher. It’s about 5-10 minutes to clean up.

img_1891

Being able to do Hello Fresh consistently has given me confidence in my cooking and has transferred to life on the road.

It’s very easy to have “dieting” or a healthy lifestyle get boring after a while, but I have been doing Hello Fresh for three months now and have not gotten a repeated recipe. Every week I get to try new, healthy recipes. When I am by myself, I typically make one meal for dinner, and put the remaining in some Tupperware to take to work the next day. It gives me something to look forward to on my lunch break.

img_1892

Some for now, some for later. Honey Mustard Salmon with Roasted Asparagus and Israeli Couscous Pilaf.

The ingredients they send are really good quality and taste amazing. I am also pleasantly surprised by a lot of the recipes. I have been blown away by some vegetarian options on my Meatless Mondays that I didn’t think I would love. There are also some interesting combinations that I would never think to put together.  It’s no surprise since Jaime Oliver comes up with these simple recipes!

img_1889

One of my favorite recipes was this Chicken and Nectarine Panzanella with Fresh Mint, Zucchini, and Mozzarella.

14047119_10205278358678512_6278155679952455354_o

A new favorite on Taco Tuesday! I have recreated these Smoky Chicken Tacos with Lime Crema several times already. I know the recipe by heart now!

Even though I am a busy millennial, I have still found it easy to put 30 minutes aside at night to cook a healthy meal three times a week. I love food, there’s no doubt about that. I also love cooking. I find chopping vegetables with a glass of wine and some mellow music therapeutic at the end of the day. As an advocate for the health of children and families, I can easily recommend Hello Fresh as a healthy and great way to bring the family together at the end of the day. I also think that Hello Fresh is a great way to learn simple cooking skills and expand my knowledge on cooking as a busy millennial.

img_1893

Leave a Reply

